Gym with no windows/ long ramble

HI there, I'm a heating and plumbing engineer by trade and so I do come across a few ventilation systems- mostly the domestic variety fan in bathrooms.
However, a regular cust - who runs a gym, is having problems with the sweaty lot in the gym. I'm guessing they've also increased their numbers over the last year and with it being summer in London- it's hot humid add that to the heavy breathing and showering. It's not regular gym with classes as we know it. These peeps train short and hard, heavy weights and lots of jumping for half an hour then most of them run home! I know!!
Anyway, the point is there are remnants of what I think was a ventilation system. Two big 500mm ducts terminating in an internal well of the building- where the fire escape is.

One terminal looks like it's got a fan in it and has power cable to it. The other looks like it's got a square box with door- maybe a filter? This is hard to describe.. SO I'm calling the one the F- with fan outside the building and the other B box for filter.
Inside F run's a couple of foot and then has two ports for smaller ducting- and I'll get to that in a moment.
B also runs into twp ports but ends in another ?FAN more than a few meters away.
Neither of them work I'm told or if powered up very noisy.

The other thing is the tiler that installed the 6 showers has also added to this, yup you've guessed.
He has added an extractor fan that allows 3 extractors to connect via a joining box, on to one port on F- and the wc extractor on the other port.
On B he has joined the remainder of the showers via various means of soft white ducting tube and loads of gaffer tape.

Needles to say apart from purring noise there's little or no effect- that I can tell.

NOTE- that they also have two air- coolers/ air con units, but to me they not as effective as they could be- apparently they are working as they should = they get annual checks., in the workout area- separated by swing shut doors.